Aldershot Town v Dover Athletic



Date Time League Season Attendance Home Scorers
8th October 2019 7:45 pm National League 2019-2020 1,255 Mullings (25), Berkeley-Agyepong (32), Powell (53), Santos (58)



Whites endured a miserable evening on Tuesday evening in Hampshire by conceding four goals without reply.

A goal apiece from Shamir Mullings and Jacob Berkeley-Agyepong in the first half and further finishes from Jack Powell and Alefe Santos saw Dover boss Andy Hessenthaler suffer his heaviest league defeat since returning to the club last October.

A sign of things to come was evident early on when Mullings drove wide from the edge of the area, however Athletic had a bright spell of play and Michael Woods swiped over at the second attempt.

Inih Effiong then thought he had opened the scoring, however Jack Powell was well placed to clear the striker’s shot off the line.

But it was the hosts who struck first midway through the first half.  Mullings, in a foot-race with Scott Doe, barged the centre-half off the ball and lobbed over Dover keeper Lee Worgan.

The Shots then doubled their lead with a goal Worgan could do nothing about.

Berkeley-Agyepong collected Santos’ pass and curled an unstoppable 20-yard shot into the top corner.

Effiong tried to reduce the arrears, touching the ball over his marker and volleying into the mid-rift of home stopper Mitch Walker.

Town’s attacks continued and Ethan Chislett scuffed an effort wide from inside the penalty box.

Mullings let fly from 25-yards after the restart, a shot that was just a few inches over Worgan’s crossbar.

But the home side were three goals ahead when Jack Powell’s skidding free-kick deceived Worgan and flew into the net.

The home side were not finished either and extended their lead when Santos raced onto Lewis Kinsella’s through ball and slotted past Worgan.

Kurtis Cumberbatch curled over as Athletic went in search of a consolation.

Mohamed Bettamer nearly grabbed his first goal for the Shots, blasting Kinsella’s cross into the side-netting.

Substitute Nassim L’Ghoul then forced Walker into a smart save from 25-yards.

But the 67 travelling fans were left disappointed at the final whistle after seeing their side well beaten on the night.

Earlier, boss Hessenthaler made four changes to the side that started against Notts County on Saturday.  Simpson, Woods, Cumberbatch and Jeffrey came in for Ricky Modeste (International duty), Steven Rigg (Injured), Nassim L’Ghoul and Will De Havilland.

Whites next travel to Barrow on Saturday 12th October, kick off 3 pm




[Best_Wordpress_Gallery id=”354″ gal_title=”Aldershot Town v DAFC 08/10/19″]

Aldershot Town

1Mitch Walker Goalkeeper
2Robbie Tinkler Midfielder
25Max Hunt Defender 25'
6Kodi Lyons-Foster Midfielder
3Lewis Kinsella Defender, (c) 58'
7Alefe Santos Midfielder 58'
20Ethan Chislett 14 Midfielder
21Jacob Berkeley-Agyepong 4 Midfielder 32'
34Jack Powell Midfielder 52'
9Shamir Mullings 10 Forward 25'
19Mohamed Bettamer Forward
4Dean Rance 21 Midfielder 63 Berkeley-Agyepong'
10Connor Shields 9 Forward 86 Mullings'
12Alfie Whittingham Midfielder
14Aaron Eyoma 20 Midfielder 77 Chisnett'
15Alex Finney Defender
  3 4 4

First Team Manager: Danny Searle

Dover Athletic

13Lee Worgan Goalkeeper
26Aaron Simpson 11 Defender
4Scott Doe Defender
5Kevin Lokko Defender, (c) 18'
3Bobby-Joe Taylor Midfielder
7Jai Reason 10 Midfielder
8Michael Woods Midfielder
15Kurtis Cumberbatch 22 Midfielder
2Josh Passley Defender
21Anthony Jeffrey Forward
9Inih Effiong Forward
1Yusuf Mersin Goalkeeper
6Will De Havilland Defender
10Nassim L’Ghoul 7 Midfielder 59 Reason'
11Jack Munns 26 Midfielder 59 Simpson'
22Bilel Hinchiri 15 Midfielder 69 Cumberbatch'
  3 1
Yellow Cards
Red Cards


RefereeReferee's AssistantsFourth Official
Scott JacksonAshley List
Mark Stevens
Tristan Greaves


The EBB Stadium
High Street, Aldershot GU11 1TW, United Kingdom